“DIY: Off the Shoulder Blouse”

This is a great idea

thatgirlArlene

Hey everyone! It’s been a while since I last shared a DIY and an outfit idea post for you guys and so I thought why not incorporate both in just one post? So I’ve come up with this DIY off the shoulder top which I know we all girls love, plus hey! it’s summer and it’s the right time to wear one right now.

I am using a men’s blouse that I thrifted for this tutorial. I will recommend for you girls to use one like this from your dad’s, brother’s or partner’s closet. (Use one that they don’t wear anymore!!😁)

Let’s begin…

What you need:


•Sewing Machine or a regular needle.

•Men’s Blouse

•Taylor’s Chalk or pencil

•Thread

•Scissors

•Ruler

•Elastic Band (size: depends on your choice)

•Tape Measure

•Pins

Here’s the steps:

1. 

Lay your blouse on a flat surface and determine where you want to cut. As…

View original post 199 more words

Blue Sky Tag

trh-blue-sky-tag

 

Esme from Cook and Enjoy Recipes has nominated me for this Blue Sky Tag.  Check out her blog, most of all check out the Share and Inspire page.  You still have time to participate in the June event.  It is a fun event you will enjoy it.

 

The Rules:

  1. Give 11 questions.
  2. Tag 11 people.
  3. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  4. Don’t forget to thank the person who tagged you.

Questions Given To Me:

  1. Where do most visits to your blog come from?
    1. United States and
    2. Canada
  2. Name a musical instrument/s you play/played.
    1. Sadly enough I never really took the time to learn a musical instrument.  
  3. What is your biggest wish you want fulfilled this year.
    1. Be able to run a 5k race
    2. Pay down my credit card debt
  4. What is your favorite book?
    1. Orlando by Virginia Woolf
  5. Name the most special moment in your life.
    1. Coming to America 🙂
  6. What prompted you to start blogging?
    1. There are many reasons but the main reason, as I noted here was my grandma.
  7. What are the principles that you live by?
    1. “be patient and
    2. be kind”
  8. Do you have any hobbies, other than Blogging?  Name one or two please.
    1. Gardening,
    2. Crafts,
    3. Cooking,
    4. Baking and
    5. Creating.  
  9. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
    1. I’m still new to blogging but I did write a small piece on how to write a great blog. I think the most important pieces about being a successful blogger is consistency. Second, make sure readers know what your blog is about.  
  10. As a food blogger, I need to ask this:  Which do you like best: Cooking or Baking?
    1. Baking
  11. Share a link to your best post(s)
    1. My Valentine’s Day Breakfast received the most views, however; my personal favorite is my Strawberry Torte mainly because the cake was so good I was named “Ella of the Strawberry Cake”.

Questions To My Nominees:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. How do you find time for your blog?
  3. Do you have a blogging routine/schedule?
  4. How long does it take you to finish writing a post?
  5. Do you have a morning routine?
  6. What is your favorite autobiography?
  7. How many languages do you speak?
  8. What does it mean to be a woman?
  9. Is your blog listed on your resume/linked-in page?
  10. How do you stay in shape?
  11. Are you doing any volunteer work, if so what kind and why?

 

 

My Nominees Are:

The DIY Home Garden Blog

The Creative Crafts DIY Blog

The Style and Tips Blog

The My Kitchen My Thoughts Blog

The Not So Creative Cook Blog

The Snigda Rohilla Blog

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

The Fun Fashion Freedom Site Blog

The Kool Kosher Kitchen Blog

The A Foodie Housewife Blog

The An Old Sole Blog

Enjoy and please check out all these awesome blogs.

How to Write a Great Blog?

In my 100th blog post I noted my struggles with time, images etc.  I did go on, writing a post on how to create great images for your blog.

But, does it end here? It just added additional confusion.

I did realize that I had already used up 10% of my total account space.  Now considering I have really only been around since January and have a total of 105 posts, doing the math I will run out of space after 1000 posts.  Just confusion since other people have been blogging for year.

What about simply writing a great blog?!

While searching the topic I came across the following post.   There is a lot of great information but one thing stuck with me and got my attention right away.

Templates.

Since I’m struggling with a time issue maybe templates are the answer.

Is anybody using templates?

I did try some templates but it ended up taking more time.

What I figured out so far is, consistency, clear message, good visuals and interacting with other bloggers is important to have a good blog.  I still have miles to go.