Rösti (Swiss potato cake)

For our Sunday Breakfast

potato rösti-10

The longer I´ve lived in France, the more I dive into the delightful ocean that is French cuisine, but the more I also rediscover the gems of German cooking. The dishes from home didn´t play a big role in my kitchen for quite some time, not out of dislike, but rather because I was (and continue to be) so eager to learn everything I can about French cooking that oftentimes there aren´t nearly enough meals per day to make everything I have in mind.  In my defense (not that anyone had accused me) I might add that from this blog´s early days I´ve made some effort to include a few German favorites every once in a while, even though I didn´t always refer to the term ´German cooking´ in the most geographically precise way. But at least I ´ve never been all cheating: Kaiserschmarrn, for instance, comes from Austria, but it´s safe to say Bavarian emperor (Kaiser) Franz had something to do with…

View original post 561 more words

Leave a Reply

